Director Elections

General Information about HREC Elections

  • Board of Directors governs the cooperative
  • The cooperative is divided into 4 director districts with 2 directors elected from each district
  • Directors are elected by the membership of their respective districts and must be active members of the cooperative
  • Directors serve three-year terms
  • Directors may be nominated by written petitions signed by at least 25 Heartland REC members who are residents of the district to be represented
  • Elections occur via mail ballot
  • Results are announced at each year’s Annual Meeting

2024 Election Information

  • Districts 1 and 4 will each have an open seat
  • The sole candidate for District 1, Jesse Secrest, will take his seat as a new director in April as he is running unopposed.
  • The candidates for District 4 are Steve McFarland (incumbent) and Martin O’Brien.
  • Ballots for the District 4 election will be mailed no later than Monday, March 11, 2024, and need to be received at the Heartland REC office in Girard by 4:30 p.m. on Monday, March 25, 2024
  • The winner of the District 4 election will be announced at the live-streamed Annual Meeting on Tuesday, March 26, 2024