Prepaid Billing FAQ

Are there any fees to reconnect service?

Yes, there can be. If a member disconnects and then requests reconnection at the same location within a 12-month period, Heartland will charge a reconnection fee equal to what the minimum monthly bill would have been during the period of disconnection—even if reconnecting on the prepaid rate.

How can I switch to prepaid service?
  • Complete and submit the Prepaid Service Election Form
  • Sign up for email and/or text notifications through SmartHub on our website
  • Use SmartHub to view your account balance and usage history
  • We recommend keeping at least a week’s worth of billing in your account at all times to avoid disconnection
  • Heartland's cold weather rule does not apply to prepaid accounts; disconnections can occur regardless of weather conditions.
What if I want to return to a regular billed account?

You can switch back at any time. You may be required to pay a deposit, depending on your past payment history at Heartland and/or results of a credit report. Any funds in your account will remain a credit under traditional billing until your next bill is created.

Can I be notified when my balance is low?

The member can sign up to receive email or text notifications when their balance is getting low by going to the SmartHub section of our website, registering their account, and clicking on Notifications. These notifications are a courtesy, and we cannot guarantee they will be received by the member. The member is ultimately responsible to check their balance and make sufficient payments to avoid being disconnected.

What if I let my funds run out?

On the morning that your funds run out, you qualify to be disconnected. Disconnections will occur around 11 a.m. that day. No disconnections will occur on weekends or holidays. A disconnected account will be reconnected automatically once a payment is made that is sufficient to place funds back in the account. We recommend paying online or through our automated phone system for the fastest reconnection 24 hours a day. You can also pay in person at one of our offices during office hours. Payments made to our night drop boxes will not be posted until the morning of the next working day, so the reconnection would not occur until that time.